top of page

Bee Gees - Put on your dancing shoes, it's time for Saturday Night Fever!


How can you mend a broken heart?

The Bee Gees really made the best disco & pop music from my perspective. No wonder my late mother loved them! She introduced me this group back when I was in standard 4. She even had vinyls and CDs of them. I am thankful to her for showing me this wonderful music group! These Aussies from Redcliffe have revolutionized the music industry for over 50 years.

The Bee Gees consists of brothers Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb and Maurice Gibb. They were very popular during the 70s and 80s.

In their first 10 years, they have produced melodious ballads which can surely bring tears if we fully understood the lyrics. Songs such as "I Started a Joke", "I've Gotta Get a Message to You" and "Saved by the Bell" are some of their masterpieces. I highly recommend you to listen to these and really feel the lyrics.

Here is a video of them performing "I Started a Joke" live:

Besides, their music became more catchy and fun to dance to during the disco era in the 70's. Songs like "Saturday Night Fever", "You should be dancing", and "Stayin' Alive" can really make you want to bust out some funky moves! Who doesn't remember John Travolta in the movie "Saturday Night Fever" with a lot of disco hits by the Bee Gees? Check out his moves!

Unfortunately, Maurice Gibb died from a heart attack in 2003, leaving Robin and Barry to continue touring together. Maurice contributed a lot in composing the music of the Bee Gees. He was a good bassist and keyboardist.

In 2012, Robin Gibb passed away and it really saddened the fans as Robin had the best voice among the 3 brothers. He was suffering from a lot of illnesses and of old age. Now, Barry Gibb remains the surviving Bee Gees and he still do tours in the name of his fallen brothers.

As a conclusion, what I truly enjoy about the Bee Gees are their creativeness in composing music and writing the best lyrics for love songs. They really made me see the world in a better point of view. Bee Gees made me a happy child back then. I appreciate their music so much.


Featured Posts
bottom of page