top of page

Metallica - Get ready to headbang!


"And nothing else matters"

The most influential heavy metal band of the century! These heavy metal pioneers were formed in the year 1981 consisting of guitarist and singer, James Hetfield, lead guitarist, Kirk Hammet, bassist Cliff Burton and drummer Lars Ulrich. I was so head over heels with this band when I was in form 3 during secondary school that I forced myself to learn most of their songs on the guitar.

Their fast heavy metal guitar riffs caught my attention in the song "Master of Puppets" and it made me listen to their other material as well. Among the other metal bands which I also listen to such as Megadeth, Iron Maiden and Anthrax, Metallica is my most favourite as the lyrics of their songs were very inspiring and meaningful. It was a tragic loss during the death of their bassist, Cliff Burton when their tour bus got involved with an accident. They replaced him with Jason Newsted and the band still produced great records. After several years, Jason Newsted left the band to work on a solo project and was later replaced by Robert Trujillo.

These are the songs by them which I truly enjoy and :

1. Fade to Black

2. The Unforgiven

3. Orion

4. Master of Puppets

5. The Four Horsemen

6. To Live is To Die

7. Seek and Destroy

8. So What

9. St. Anger

10. Mama said

During their live performances, they are really dedicated in letting the fans join in the fun. Sometimes, they let the fans go on stage to sing with them. I really admire this particular quality they have. Not many metal bands are this humble and supportive towards their fans. Their music received lots of recommendations during the early years, but then declined slowly as fans claimed their sound to be getting too mainstream. However, I still enjoy their new material. It's all a matter of perspective in music. Some people can't respect what others enjoy.

One of their best concerts was in Seattle in the year 1989. That was their first live performance with the new bassist Jason Newsted replacing the late Cliff Burton. Watch them perform "Master of Puppets" and feel their energy!


Featured Posts
bottom of page